Taking beamshots

pulstar

Enlightened
Hello...
Iconsider myself as a greenhorn in a flashlight world, but i'm a total newb in photography. I really want to make a few beamshots of some lights, but since i have only "normal" digital camera i had to borrow a serious piece of photo equipment from my cousin. But here it gets interesting. It has so many functions and manually adjustable settings, that i'm completely lost. I would really like to get some information of basic settings, needed to make a decent beamshot:
What is exposure, which settings should i use?
AF (autofocus) which settings are good enough?
ISO is important for what?
and so on...
Can someone please post a few "bulletins" how to prepare a camera to make atleast barrable picture in form like:
1.adjsut some....
2.try to select....

btw, i'll use Nikon D70s

Thanks in advance for your help

Last edited:

Kestrel

Flashaholic
I'm in a similar situation, and I want to do pretty much exactly the same thing in a day or so. I know there are manual settings on my Canon point&shoot digital camera, so perhaps that would be simpler, except I don't know what settings to use. I'd love some advice on this as well. Thx,

HKJ

Flashaholic
Can someone please post a few "bulletins" how to prepare a camera to make atleast barrable picture in form like:
1.adjsut some....
2.try to select....

btw, i'll use Nikon D70s

I am not an expert at beam shoots, but if I want to compare a number of lights I do it this way:

First put camera on a tripod and adjust it to point at the area where you want to light up.
Use a powerful light and let the camera do auto focus (Half press shutter), then disable AF (A small switch on the front, just beside the lens).
Put camera on manual exposure (M on the wheel).
Start with ISO=200, aperture=Largest, time=10 sec