H501 battery question from flashlight nitwit

Marsel

Newly Enlightened
I'm a professional nature photographer looking for a lightweight, compact flashlight that I can use both as a headlamp and without the headband. I'm looking for pure flood, so I'm thinking about the H501 or the H60.

I know nothing about batteries, and I have a question I hope you can answer: I often travel in remote areas without electricity, so without the possibility to charge any batteries. Regular AA or AAA batteries are available in even the most underdeveloped countries, which is why I prefer to use what I think you call primaries (I often use Energizer Lithium AA's).

I would like to know whether either of these (or any good alternative) headlamps can take AA or AAA primaries, and if so, if results are much worse than using special rechargeables.

Thanks for your help!

Marsel

Marduke

Flashaholic
Using lithium primaries are always best performance wise. Using alkaline primaries are always the worst. Using NiMH rechargables are nearly as good as lithium primaries are, and are much cheaper than either other option in the long run.

My question is: why do you necessarily have to charge batteries in the field? You charge them in civilization (similar to buying your lithium cells in civilization), use them in the field, and charge them back up when you get back to civilization to "refresh" your supply, just as you would normally buy more primaries when you return to civilization.

In a pinch if you run out, you can still use disposable primaries bought on site.

Best of all, using NiMH cells, carrying the same number as you normally would of alkaline, you will have approximately double the runtime, meaning you are carrying twice the power.

Last edited:

wapkil

Enlightened
If you want to dig dipper, you may take a look at the "NiMh Battery Shoot Out" and "Alkaline Battery Shoot Out" threads.