making bodies for production lights

krazy89

Enlightened
hey guys... i'm new to creating a new body for a branded production light...

i was just wondering what the implications are with regards to patents... copyrights... permissions of doing something like this with the intention of selling like 50-100 here on CPF...

if anyone can shed some light on this... would be great...

KraZy

greenLED

Flashaholic
i was just wondering what the implications are with regards to patents... copyrights... permissions of doing something like this with the intention of selling like 50-100 here on CPF...
If you're making 1-2 for your own use, you'd probably be "OK".

However, if you're planning on selling, I'd expect legal action from the copyright and patents owners. (IOW, don't do it.)

krazy89

Enlightened
If you're making 1-2 for your own use, you'd probably be "OK".

However, if you're planning on selling, I'd expect legal action from the copyright and patents owners. (IOW, don't do it.)
hmm... i kinda figured that might be the case... however... how about the Ti bodies for the EX10's by Russtang.... i guess he woulda had to ask permission from nitecore and mcgizmo before making them??

KraZy

krazy89

Enlightened
Indeed but Mag, Streamlight or SF probably won't be as accommodating as Don.

(Ask Russ.)
hey green... hehe... indeed i asked Russ... and he did provide the answer i'm looking for...

thank you for your knowledge into this as well...

KraZy

kramer5150

Flashaholic
I think it depends on how closely you clone someone elses design or encroach on their patents.

Make something different & unique to clear yourself of the legal issues.

Curious.... I wonder if you called Surefire and explained your situation, and that you wanted to custom fabricate a 6P compatible body of your own design (say):
-IPX-8 WR
-GITD accents
-typeIII
-removable aluminum grip ring
-big heatsink fins to cool the LED module
-magnet mount to stick to metal surfaces