Nitecore D20 Repair

naked_snake

Newly Enlightened
Hey guys. Just to clear things up, I'm very new to flashlights, so any and all advice is welcome.

I became interested in bright, feature-rich (and more expensive) flashlights when I got sick and tired of the $5 walmart flashlights my dad would buy. I got myself a Nitecore Defender Infinity, and I liked it so much I got my dad a Nitecore D20 for his birthday.

Well, recently I left my DI at a friends' house, and I needed to do a quick repair on my car at night, so I asked my dad if I could borrow his D20. Now, my DI is a single AA, so I'm used to holding it in my mouth so I can work on things with both hands. Well, as I was holding the D20 in my mouth, it was much heavier than I expected and it dropped onto the asphalt. I was already kneeled by the ground, so it fell about 2 feet, but landed right on the head.

As soon as it hit the ground the beam went out. Now, it won't light. I thought since Nitecore has a significant market for military and police guys, they would've been designed to take some hits.

Right now, I'm feeling just a little angry. I broke the flashlight I paid $80 for, but what's worse is I don't want to have to tell my dad there's nothing I can do. You guys might be able to tell me what's wrong, or at least tell me how to take it apart to assess the damage. Are there spare parts I can buy and replace myself to get it working again? I at least would like to know that I can give back my dad a working flashlight without having to spend another $80 for a brand new one.

Last edited:

csshih

Flashlight Enthusiast
where did you buy the D20?

If you bought the d20 @ 4sevens, just contact them.. they should replace it.

naked_snake

Newly Enlightened
where did you buy the D20?

If you bought the d20 @ 4sevens, just contact them.. they should replace it.

No, I bought it from this site:

http://www.tacticalleds.com/NiteCore-SmartPD-D20-R2-p/nitecore-d20-r2.htm