Tactical strobe..Does it work?????

Status
Not open for further replies.

mpkav

Newly Enlightened
Hey all, I've been a police officer for 8 years and just now got my first light with the strobe feature. I don't know anyone who has actually used the strobe to disorient or blind someone. I've only ever seen officers blinding officers in pure boredom!!!! Does anyone have a story where it has been useful? Blinding a suspect, maybe an attacking dog, an angry wife!!!:crackup:
Is it useful or just something to play with???

NonSenCe

Flashlight Enthusiast
below polar circle.. in country which used to make
best i have heard is that it gives you that "blink and you loose" split second advantage.

suprised blink of the other one might just give you that small edge or time you need to get the upper hand. something like drawing gun mace baton and use it while camouflaging your movement with bright strobe.

i personally dont see it useful.

jzmtl

Flashlight Enthusiast
I've strobed myself with several brands of light, they are annoying but not anymore useful than just max setting. Perhaps if you are running around with it, it may be harder to identify your exact location.

gsxrac

Enlightened
Well I point it in my face and I go AHH!!! So all in all id say it works ok? Not quite as intimidating or effective as just showing em your muzzle flash though?

And to answer your question a little more directly I dont remember hearing anyone on this forum say anything about blinding suspects/ attackers with a strobe. I have used one to alert traffic to a vehicle recovery that was going on in a big snow storm around a blind corner though.

AusKipper

Enlightened
When i got my TK40 on the first day i got my sister to attack me (mucking around, not serious..) and tried both the strobe modes, and the turbo mode.

In summary, there was no real difference between strobe and turbo mode. In both modes she was still able to run towards me, but unable to look directly at me.