How to test to see if a switch is working?

vudoo

Enlightened
Hey guys, I am new to flashlight and electronics in general and have a problem if anyone has the time to give me some assistance.

How do you go about testing a switch to see if it is okay? The flashlight I have has got a 3 mode switch. What setting do I use on the multimeter and exactly where do I probe? :thinking:

Thanks in advance!

vudoo

Enlightened
The switch has got 4 points coming out of it...so I set the DMM to continuity and touch the probes to any 2 points and then cycle through the 3 modes of the switch. By at least the third press of the switch I should hear a beep?

Wiggle

Flashlight Enthusiast
Use continuity mode to see which connection is the common for all 3. Turn switch off and test the battery spring with one probe and then try all 4 connections and only one should beep, that's the common. Now keep one probe on that common and alternate the switch on/off to see if each of the other connections shows continuity within 3 on/off cycles.

von

Newly Enlightened
Check that each of the 3 identical legs connect to ground in sequence as you cycle the button. Ground is the fourth, shorter leg that is on the side of the black switch body that has a total of two legs (the short ground leg and one of the 3 longer, identical legs).

That short leg connects to a trace that goes to that little round solder blob in the corner of the board. If you turn over the board, you can see that that solder blob goes to a wire that runs into the flashlight body, no doubt to ground.

Thus, put your DMM in resistance mode or continuity mode. Put one probe on the short ground leg and the other probe on any of the other 3 identical legs. Cycle the switch until you get continuity. Leave the first probe on ground. move the second probe to the next switch leg. Cycle the switch and check for continuity. Do the same for the last identical switch leg.