New to flashlights, one on the way.

nickdolin

Newly Enlightened
Hey guys, I'm new to flashlights but I'm a seasoned watch collector and I feel that the two hobbies have a bit in common (along with firearms and knives). Since I'm a guy who enjoys workmanship and gadgetry I figured I'd give a cool flashlight a try.

I'm still trying to absorb all the terminology but that does take some time. But as my first flashlight I chose the Fenix TK10 for a few reasons. First off, I didn't want a light with tons of "modes" to pick between, because I know I'd constantly be going between modes so having only 2 works for me. 2nd- It has a high lumen output in it's turbo mode 3rd- It's pretty compact in size, making it easy to pack along in my night time ATV rides 4th- The tactical styling just looks cool IMO :grin2: 5th- Forward clicker on the tail cap 6th- Fenix seems to be a good priced and well respected brand.

I'm pretty excited to receive my light but I'm wondering what kind of things affect beam quality and "throw". I've seen some threads mentioning that a smooth reflector is better for throw (brighter hot spot) with a dimmer "spill". But the "orange peel" reflectors present a higher quality beam with less throw (dimmer hot spot, brighter spill and less contrast between the two). Is this correct or are there more variables that I'm not considering? Also what causes the dark area right outside of the hot spot (before the "spill area")

Anyway, this looks like a fun place where I can learn a lot! :hitit:

NWdude83

Newly Enlightened
Good choice for your first light. The force is strong with this one.

hyperloop

Flashlight Enthusiast
:welcome:

and seeing as you collect watches, collecting flashlights shouldnt hurt that much :D

+1 on the TK10, its a good light. If you're spending a lot of time outdoors, i'd also recommend a TK20, its warm tint is better outdoors in my opinion. You can see the difference between a 'white' LED and a 'warm white' LED in my amateurish post here