Checking on my motorcycle from 300 yards away.

rickypanecatyl

Enlightened
The bigger question is I'm looking for an all around flashlight with variable outputs but 1 of the more powerful requirements is I would like to be able to look out my window where I often work at night and check up on my spendy motorcycle which is parked about 300-350 yards away. (I know, I know this seems more like a motorcycle parking/locking issue but a. its a sticky situation and b. even if was resolved I still want the flashlight that could do it!)

I'd love to have a light with variable output ... say
2-3 lumens (what do you guys think is best for reading in a tent at night and not disturbing your wife to much :duh2:)
20 lumens
100 lumens
500 lumens +

I'm kind of new to this ... is it true that most of the newer LED's - MC-E, P7, sst50/90 are more floody and don't throw a beam very far? Is one of those better than another?

Thanks

rick

Saint_Dogbert

Enlightened
You'll be hard pressed to find a light that can really get out to 300+ yards unless the ambient light is very low. For something like this, I'd definitely recommend a dedicated thrower, not a light running off of a P7/MC-E/SST-50/90 or any other multi- or large-die LEDs. They have their uses, but in your case it sounds like what you need is a good spotter, and the hundreds of lumens coming off of say a P7 would just be wasted, and back-scattering of the relatively floody beam from such a light would actually make it harder to see out to distance. I don't know if this is a light that you should try and make do everything, e.g. using the same light that you look out at something 300 yards a way to read something close-up might not be ideal, simply because the beam pattern that is optimal for the former use would not do well in the latter.

Hack On Wheels

Enlightened
Sounds like you need two lights...