Buy new flashlights or upgrade existing?

lardydevil

Newly Enlightened
Hi there! I'm new to CPF. Just stumbled across this site whilst trying to research a new purchase. Sorry if this has been covered before, but I'd love the benefit of all your experience!

I'm thinking about replacing my current work flashlights. I've had them for about 12 years and they have served me well with no complaints. But it seems as if technology has moved on and I could do better?

My primary flashlight is an original surefire 9p with a solarfore R2 lamp assembly. It claimed to have nearly 300 lumens output in the ad. I doubt thats true but it is noticably brighter and the batteries last longer!

My backup light is an original surefire 6p, with no mods.

I'm a paramedic so I need a highly rugged and robust light that can withstand all the elements, being dropped etc. (My surefires have been really abused over the years and never failed!).

I would like a clicky type on-off tail switch which has a momentary on whilst lightly pressed (don't know the correct term for that, sorry).

Perhaps also a crennelated bezel for defensive purposes?

Would you recommend keeping the torch bodies and replacing the lamp/lamps, tailswitch and perhaps bezel? Or would it be more cost effective to get 2 new flashlights altogether? I'm on a fairly tight budget.

yellow

Flashlight Enthusiast
my main light is an 18650 modded 6P w. additional clicky ...

keep the lights and get some inserts, f.e. this one: http://www.dealextreme.com/details.dx/sku.32953
works good with 2*CR123, with single Li-Ion its not so good.
the machining work and the feel is perfect with SF. And that those crappy inserts offer only a bad thermal path and thus wont work too good: skip that! When it really gets bad in some years, there will be much better ones available.

but consider: most any COMPLETE light of a good quality maker (Fenix, Jetbeam, Quark from 4sevens, ...) costs less than the clicky for the 6P.
And gives You multimode