I want to buy a flashlight

Skiboat Dave

Newly Enlightened
First post.
WOW, didn't know there was a whole world of flashlight maniacs.
This is great.
I am a contractor and a general sportsman.
I want to buy a light to carry on my belt in a holster for everyday use.

I would use it for the following,
Looking above ceilings
checking my outdoor wood boiler at night
looking for the dogs at night
reading my charts while boating
lighting my way in a basement or mechanical room
Reading a program at a night time event
Walking out of the woods at night after hunting

I also "think" I would like to use regular batteries.

I am using the simple Brinkman twist on light and I am not impressed.
It takes two double AA's
I hate the fact you need two hands to turn it on.
The holster has no top so the light can just fall out if you sit the wrong way.
I would much rather have a one handed button operation.
I also hate the fact I have to turn the head to widen or narrow the beam EVERY time I need to use it.
I do like the size of it.

LED or incandescent?

Money is not really a factor. I don't mind paying if I am getting a good product.

I would love a direction from you pros!

luke_DF

Newly Enlightened
welcome to CPF :welcome: the best thing to do is perhaps filling this in and posting it here. then just sit back and watch the ideas and recommendations floodgates open wide!

umc

Enlightened
I know you said regular batteries but I consider a CR123 a regular batter so I'm going to suggest a RA Custom Clicky since money is no object (200.00 range)

Built rock solid

Made in the USA by an active member on these forums who provides great customer service

one handed operation

LED = bright and efficient

Programmable to your liking from a very low mode to a very high mode (up to 170 lumens if you go with that model)

I have two RA's and love them, I will be adding more in time. Give them a look at: http://www.ralights.com