Help me build my light?

Denial

Newly Enlightened
Hey CPF
i decided to join this community as flashlights have always interested me (we call them torches in Australia). Anyways i want to build my own flashlight just to get a personal touch to my first real flashlight without spending hundreds of $$$

so far the only flashlights i own are cheap chinese led junk that can put out a big blast of light before dying on me a few days later.

i want to make a quality light, from pieces that i can order. preferably 2xAA XP-g since its so hard to get your hands on 123A or 18650 batteries in Australia. If it is possible i would like a total noob guide...

what are the steps i need to take in order to build one?

i found a website where i can order the xp-g led, optics and driver on cutters but apart from that i am lost at what to do next...

keeping in mind i have a budget of about 50 dollars what would you recommend ? keep in mind i am a totally new to building flashlights!

cheers

DM51

Flashaholic
Welcome to CPF, Denial :)

I'll move your thread to our Homemade & Modified section here, where I hope you'll find plenty of advice and help.

Good luck with your project!

old4570

Flashlight Enthusiast
You will want a 9P body , Either make your own drop in , or buy one ...

Just depends on how complicated you want it to be ...
Your first drop in may not be that reliable ? as there is a learning curve .

Anyhow ....

Host body for your consideration

Empty pill for gizzards

Driver that works with 2xAA

Mine

Now the easy way would be to just buy a 3 mode or single mode or 5 mode Solarforce LOW voltage drop in , like this one

And just assemble and run with 2xAA ...

An other option which I enjoy very much , is the Solarforce L2 , I would recommend the L2M [ 18650 ] + extra CR123A extension , + the low voltage drop in ...
And you can run , CR123A - 18650 - or 2xAA ...