Need help with a compact duty light...

whozyodaddy

Newly Enlightened
I have been reading on this site for a few weeks now and am a little overwhelmed! The information is endless!

I am a police officer and am trying to figure out a better primary duty light or options for what I have. I read through the LE specific topics, but didn't really find what I was looking for.

In the past I have carried a SL Strion, a SL TL-2. I also have available to me a SL PolyStinger. I don't like any of them for various reasons, mainly a lack of power. Although, I do like the incan light "color".

Recently I purchased a Fenix TK12 and a TK10. I like them for their size, features, build and brightness. However, I have found some issues that I need help with.... I use them primarily in the turbo mode for the most amount of light (ie: car stops and field contacts), but they eat batteries more quickly than I thought they would which gets expensive. The other issue is that I really don't care for how "blue" the light is. In talking to others around me who use lights with the blue tint, they said I would get used to it, but I haven't. Also, I work in an area that is often rainy and misty/foggy, which I don't think the blue tint works well in.

I understand that I have options for rechargheable batteries and am considering that, even though it is a bit of a hassle due to where to keep the charger, how to always have fresh batteries, etc.

I guess my questions are primarily: what can I do about the color tint issue and the battery consumption? I am not opposed to different lights at all, but don't want to spend loads of money or have some custom complicated ninja light. Simple is often best.

Go easy on me, I'm new here! Thanks!

John_Galt

Flashlight Enthusiast
Check out Jetbeam. They have some very nice lights, and alot of their lights can use RCR123's/16340's or 18650's or primary batteries.