Triple XP-G Marwi conversion

PScalfano

Newly Enlightened
Warning: new member content. :help:

This is a work in progress. I picked up an L332N-MC from lux-rc and integrated it into a marwi light body + heat sink from el34's website. I used arctic silver epoxy to attach the driver/LED board to the heat sink, and also to attach the heat sink to the light body. For the cable/connector, I went with a magicshine extension cord from geoman. I am using a magicshine battery to power this light. I went with this particular switch because it easily allows me to change modes once the light is on by lightly pressing the button but not engaging the switch.

I still have to work on the water sealing and front lens. I would love to hear any comments or constructive criticism from you guys - this is my first build. I would not have been able to do this without the information you guys share on this forum. I really appreciate everyone sharing their knowledge and expertise.

4918283002_9e1cf473d6_z.jpg

4917660395_7a6ac27e34_z.jpg

4918228742_334ff1d15f_z.jpg

Thanks for looking!

BrianMc

Enlightened
Nice adaptation. One EL34 was thinking of from the first posting of it over on MTBR.

One caution, relates to heat at max current. I can't remember if that board is set at 1.4 or 1.5 A max, but you have three XP-G's which are 3.5 Vf at 1.4 A and 3.55 at 1.5 so between 15.7 and 16.0 Watts about 15-20% of which becomes light, so between 12.5 and 13.6 watts of heat. I'd guess about 8 square inches of body not including the bezel, since the bullet shaped light is about 7.5. You can measure and calculate that easily.