Have 6P, need drop in to penetrate water..

Zmonster

Newly Enlightened
Noob here looking for some advice.

I was searching the net in hopes that I could find a inexpensive replacement bulb for my Surefire 6P which just burned out, and I came across this great site. My wife doesn't think it's so great, cause I think I just found another hobby
:whistle:lovecpf

I have at my disposal two Surefire 6P's and a old plastic Brinkmans of some sort with a Surefire bulb. I think I purchased it a few years ago, and it has been on two tours in the sand box, and is holding up pretty well.

What I'm looking for is a bulb I can drop in and use to penetrate water at night while bowfishing. I may mount this light to my bow via a custom stabilizer mount I made. I'm intrigued by Malkoffs offerings, but there are so many options, that my head is spinning. Do I just purchase one of these drop ins and that's it? Or do I need other items to make everything work? Would I need a special filter for water? Is the W drop ins better for outdoors and Why?

Sorry for all the noob questions. I've read through the search functions and I'm pretty lost at all the candle power lingo.:confused:

jorn

Flashlight Enthusiast
For penetrating water, i would put in another incan module. I love to freedive and spearfishing, and to my eyes the incan seems to have a edge over the leds in the water. I dont know why, but i think it has someting to do with wavelenght. (the deeper you dive, the more coulors fades away. red is the last coulor to fade. My theory is that the red coulors from the sun penetrates better because of longer wavelenght. purple/bluish colours is the first one to fade away)
If you want a led, buy a warm/neutral version.