Any experience with Thrunite Scorpion?

Klingsteve

Newly Enlightened
Anyone have any experience / thoughts / comments about the Thrunite Scorpion? Wondering if I should pull the trigger on getting one. The only thing I've seen that confuses me is the lumen output. I've seen it advertised anywhere from 460 to 550.

Any replies would be welcomed. :)

gilly

Enlightened
I was wondering the same thing - looks like a nice light. Thrunite posted awhile back that they had sent one to Selfbuilt to review. Look forward to seeing what he thinks.

purelite

Enlightened
doubt its 550 OTF though its probably heatsinked pretty good at 1.5a an XML will do about 450OTF at startup

Outdoorsman5

Flashlight Enthusiast
It's 550 lumens at the emitter. Goinggear.com has the lumens listed at 460 "ANSI" lumens, so you can trust that it's 460 OTF.

I have no experience with this light, but I am somewhat interested. Here's a discription of its operation from goinggear.com:

"The Scorpion features a unique five stage UI with a twist ring on the tail cap. The ring rotates from left to right for the following modes: Lock out, Firefly, Infinite brightness, momentary, and momentary strobe.

• Lock Out: Prevents accidental activation of the light. This is important when storing or transporting the light, or, in situations where accidental activation of a light can be dangerous.
  • Firefly mode: This mode was specifically designed with the tactical user in mind. It is a very low 0.1 lumens which is perfect for stealth navigation and for map reading without excessive glare to the user.
  • Infinite brightness mode: Customize the brightness you want. Press the click and hold, the light will start to ramp in brightness, choose the brightness you want and then release, the light will memorize the setting. It will retain this setting for future use on this mode. When the light ramp in the brightness., it will mention at 100% output and 10% output by blink twice.