52mm reflector - which emitter should I use?

3zuli

Newly Enlightened
hi, this is my f1rst post here :) I'm pretty new to all this flashlight stuff, but I own few cheaper lights from DX (with XML and P7) and I've got a pretty good expirience with electronics
I'm building my first from-scratch build, I'll be using this reflector:
http://www.dealextreme.com/p/alumin...or-cree-mc-e-led-emitters-52-15-27-15mm-39409
and some 1A driver board for the LED, it will be powered with 2x 14500 LiIon's. I'm building it inside a 50mm PVC pipe (100% waterproof :devil:)
well and the question is, which LED will give me more throw? XR-E R2 or XP-G R51B? I'd prefer to use the xp-g because it's brighter, but will it be a thrower?
thanks for advice :)

onetrickpony

Enlightened
hi, this is my f1rst post here :) I'm pretty new to all this flashlight stuff, but I own few cheaper lights from DX (with XML and P7) and I've got a pretty good expirience with electronics
I'm building my first from-scratch build, I'll be using this reflector:
http://www.dealextreme.com/p/alumin...or-cree-mc-e-led-emitters-52-15-27-15mm-39409
and some 1A driver board for the LED, it will be powered with 2x 14500 LiIon's. I'm building it inside a 50mm PVC pipe (100% waterproof :devil:)
well and the question is, which LED will give me more throw? XR-E R2 or XP-G R51B? I'd prefer to use the xp-g because it's brighter, but will it be a thrower?
thanks for advice :)

I just used that reflector for a maglite build with an xm-l, it worked out really well. The only problem was mounting the led (I used the copper base star model from dx). I had to grind out the underside of the reflector with a dremel and use flat desoldering braid for the leads in order to keep them from shorting on the aluminum. You could use a plastic ring to isolate the leads, but the led will be further away from the ideal focal point.