Need help deciding on new AAA EDC:

Leif24

Newly Enlightened
Looking to get a new AAA EDC light.

I have always been a big fan of Fenix lights and I am trying to choose between two of their lights both with Cree R2 LEDs, the LD01 with 85 max lumens and the LD03 with 71 max lumens.

Any input would be appreciated.

Zeruel

Flashlight Enthusiast
LD03 must be one of the longest (if not the longest) single AAA lights I know. I'd would prefer a AAA with clicky, but not at such dramatic length. A non-Fenix Preon 1 + clicky would be a better choice at that.

I've been using LD01 as my keychain light for 2-3 years now, I would say it's one of the classics from Fenix. I like that it's first output is med, a good brightness for general use, not too low and not too bright. The latest version is R5 SS if you prefer a more efficient LED with a tank proof steel body to match. To get that extra boost in output, you can try using protected 10440 (responsibly).

tam17

Enlightened
Try to avoid LD01 R2 and get a new current regulated version. R2s have purple-ish tint (esp. in Low mode), PWM flickering is noticeable and 85 lumens are not ANSI/FL1.

Cheers,

Tam

HKJ

Flashaholic
Looking to get a new AAA EDC light.

I have always been a big fan of Fenix lights and I am trying to choose between two of their lights both with Cree R2 LEDs, the LD01 with 85 max lumens and the LD03 with 71 max lumens.

Any input would be appreciated.

The LD03 does not exist.

Try checking my website, I have compared many AAA lights. I am missing some of the newest models, they will be added at a later date, but just now I am way to busy with some other lights.

GunnarGG

Enlightened
Try to avoid LD01 R2 and get a new current regulated version. R2s have purple-ish tint (esp. in Low mode), PWM flickering is noticeable and 85 lumens are not ANSI/FL1.

Cheers,

Tam

The one I've got is the R4 version in aluminium. No PWM.
I really like it and carry it as much as or maybe more often than my Preon ReVo SS NW.