headlamp/handheld throw/flood for camping

Do you like spot or spill in your headlamp or handheld?

• Headlamp = Throw, Handheld = Flood

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Headlamp = Flood, Handheld = Throw

Votes: 19 82.6%
  • Both Flood

Votes: 2 8.7%
  • Both Throw

Votes: 2 8.7%

• Total voters

DIΩDΣ

Enlightened
I meant 'Throw' or 'Flood' btw...

I plan on getting a headlamp and a handheld for outdoor use, lets use the example of backpacking / camping. I am sure many of you have used lights for this purpose, and have both headlamps and handhelds. I'm still new to LED's and actually having such a range of choices and beam profiles, etc. So I wonder what kind of beam profiles you all prefer for outdoor stuff like hiking/camping. What I was thinking was a flood style headlamp and a flashlight with some more throw.

Now when I say throw I dont mean a super duper spotlight but just your average spot+spill. Hope I am using ok terminology I'm pretty new here still.

I figured the HL forum would be better since I figure everyone with a headlamp probably has a handheld too, but no necessarily the other way around.

Last edited:

gcbryan

Flashlight Enthusiast
I do what you suggest except that my hand held is pure throw. It's small but it has an aspheric lens so no spill and pure throw. I only use it if I need to spot something. Otherwise I use the headlamp for everything.

I might have a 1 AAA light on a string around my neck just so I always have a light with me even if the headlamp and throw aren't on me (such as when I'm in the tent).

varuscelli

Flashlight Enthusiast