In terms of quality is there any Chinese maker that stands out?

nenofury

Newly Enlightened
Just wondering because I have had problems with every Chinese light I've owned. That's two by Fenix, two Nitecore, two Lumapower, and one Klarus. My HDS has been flawless on the other hand. I would stick with American lights but they just aren't nearly as bright for the same size Chinese light and although the quality is fantastic, you pay a premium. Is there an Asian maker who produces lights closer to HDS quality but with the lumens we've come to expect from that market?

sidecross

Flashlight Enthusiast
I have three Eagletac lights and the Nitecore TM11 and from what my limited exposure to the Chinese made lights I would say their quality is very good.

Their steel production is of such quality the San Francisco Bay Bridge is using their steel to use on the new section of that bridge.

I am a retired Union Journeymen Mechanic and also a member of the IWW (Industrial Workers of the World) and organized labor need to deal with wage difference between nations.

reppans

Flashlight Enthusiast
I'm not sure you can have your cake and eat it too. Most "lessons learned" threads probably correctly state that the cost of pushing the envelope - ie over-driven lights, and too many features - is reliability. I think the best you can hope for is an Asian manufacturer that will stand behind its products with a long warranty and good customer service that can handle your issues locally, vs mailing back to Asia.

I'd love to get an quality HDS, no problems with sacrificing lumens for me, but I do not want to move away from AA/14500s.

GunnarGG

Enlightened
What models of Fenix and what problem did you have?
My own experience with Fenix is very good and as I understand it many others think the same. (But of course see post about problems also).
I also have a EagleTac P20C2 Mk2 - no problems.

HaileStorm

Enlightened