Brand new Lumintop ED20 fails out of box!

"J" man

Newly Enlightened
So I pulled the trigger on the Ed20 in T5 Neutral. It arrived today from hkequipment and immediately failed on me out of the box, brand new. As soon as I entered high mode, the light started to flicker consistantly to varying degrees (not PWM). If I leave it on high for a bit, it seems to get better. I have cleaned all the threads and contact points with 70% rubbing alcohol, and checked to make sure the switch inside the tail cap was screwed in tight. I believe the switch might be faulty, what else could there be? I'm new to flashlights, so I might have overlooked something.

There is also a very slight movement with the circuit board located in the head. This movement, although very slight, makes me a little uneasy. Is this normal? I hope Selfbuilt still follows up on his older threads. :mecry: Can someone confirm this slight movement with me? Contacting Lumintop regarding these problems, I will post updates to their customer service.

jhc37013

Flashlight Enthusiast
Of the couple reverse switches I've ever had gone bad this is how it went, I've had a couple Fenix switches do the same thing. Have you taken the switch out and then reinstalled, sometimes that actually works. With the tailcap off have you tried using a paper clip to contact the negative battery post and the bare metal on the lip of the body threads, try it as steady as you can and see if you have any flickering. Do you have any other light you can temporarily swap switches, most of these type switches work in different light's as long as the board fits in the tailcap, you can try a reverse or forward switch just to check out the light.

"J" man

Newly Enlightened