Question about the Elzetta ZFL-M60 (3-cell)

KeeblerElf

Enlightened
Greetings! Long-time lurker and flashaholic, first-time poster on CPF!

I'm considering the Elzetta ZFL-M60 (I could go on about the reasons for this choice, but suffice it to say I've seen plenty of videos online and read many CPF endorsements of the light). I like the extended run time from the 3-cell option, but I need the option to use rechargeable cells with my lights (I'm a fan of "guilt-free lumens"). But Elzetta's site explicitly says not to use 3 x 16340 because of the high voltage. What I'd like to know is: does anyone here have experience in or knowledge about using 2 x 17500, or some other combination of rechargeable cells with the 3-cell ZFL-M60?

I saw someone propose the 2 x 17500 option in another thread, but I never saw a response to the suggestion. I'm not an electronics expert, but it appears that this would be within the voltage tolerances of the light. I'm not sure if the batteries would fit in the tube, as it is my understanding that the 17500's are about 1mm larger in diameter than the 16340's. If it matters, I don't anticipate using the light for critical or tactical applications.

I've done a lot of searching for this question, but most information about the ZFL-M60 seems to be about the 2-cell model. My apologies if I've simply missed the answer!

Erzengel

Enlightened
In their FAQ section they state:

Will the Elzetta ZFL-M60 Tactical LED Flashlight run on rechargeable RCR123 batteries? 2-Cell Models may be operated on RCR123 batteries, but 3-Cell Models should not use these batteries as the voltage may exceed the maximum limit of 9 Volts.

Two 17500 have a peak voltage of 8.4V, therfore You should be ok from the electrical point of view. I don't know, if the 17500s will fit.

twl

Flashlight Enthusiast
2x17500 will fit.
It's a close fit, but they fit in mine.

BIGLOU

Enlightened
Someone should bored out a 3 cell and use 2x18500s. That would be nice with a M91 set up.