DIY: Surefire G2 nitrolon bored for 18650

KQL

Newly Enlightened
I've seen posts on how a nitrolon Surefire G2 can't be bored like the aluminum cousins 6p and 9p because of the metal sleeve used in the G2. After looking at the light, I didn't see any reason why it can't be bored, as long as the sleeve is retained and expanded. I took some photos along the way. I am by no means an expert at this and there may very well be better ways to do this, I was just curious and used what I had around the house. Don't try this at home, it was just for fun. It took me ~6 hours, just buy a bored 6p and save yourself the trouble. I am not able to post attachments, so these photos are hosted on my site. Click on them to get a larger version for a closer look.

I used common hacksaw to cut through the sleeve inside the light. Take the saw off, feed through the body of the light. I wrapped the light in painters tape so I can clamp it down lightly.

Start cutting the sleeve from the inside. I found that with my sloppy technique, the ends were cut first, so I took it slow and tried to cut evenly, only through the metal sleeve.

Once the sleeve is cut, it is easy to remove with a pair of needle nose pliers. It is just press-fit into the body, there was no adhesive of any kind. We need to save the sleeve, so be careful and take it out. Note that there are 2 different lips on the tail and head ends of the sleeve.

I obviously did a poor job here and cut into the body, but we're going to bore that part out, so no harm done.

The 18650 will be riding inside this sleeve, so I used a file to take off the rough edges in the cut and used 220 grit sandpaper to make the inside edge of the cut very smooth and dull, so as not to cut through the insulation on the 18650.