Olight Thrunite Maratac Prometheus Color and CRI explorations

jon_slider

Flashlight Enthusiast
My first Vinh order.

This is my story about my aaa flashlight experience, as a total newbie, and some of the stages of my journey. The result of which is a request to modify a PWM 5800K XP-G2 Maratac Cu, to high CRI with No PWM.

Today I mailed my Maratac Cu Rev 3, whose PWM mode sequence is 40-1.5-138
and an Olight i3s, whose Current Controlled mode sequence is 20-85-0.5

I requested that the Olight Driver be installed in the Maratac, with an LED swap to N219A

Backstories
Tint and CRI
I have been extremely fortunate to have the help of darksucks.com owner and creator of the Prometheus Beta Cu that I recently bought. Its mode sequence is 1-15-85 and it has transformed my awareness of LED Color Temperature and Color Rendering Index.

When I picked up my Beta Cu, in person because I live nearby, I asked Jason to take a reading of the CRI of the light, along with several other lights I had brought with me.

When I realized how little red and what low amplitude of most colors was present in my Thrunite Titanium with XP-L, Olight i3s with XP-G2, and Maratac Rev 3 also with XP-G2, it was a revelation. The result of which is my current "Copper Dream Light".

The goals of my Dream Light are a quick release keychain light powered by a single aaa for:
1. Use as a nightlight
2. Use during the day, illuminating under a car, under a bed or couch, where there is ambient light
3. Use while Van camping, to illuminate things in my hads while sitting inside a Camper, and to wear as a headlamp on a baseball cap when moving around outside cooking something on a charcoal grill at night, with no ambient light, away from the city.