mule flashlights - how would you use it?

stellar canuck

Newly Enlightened
I'm new to the world of exotic flashlights, but in browsing various manufacturers, I have come across the TnC family of pocket mule flashlights, which are defined as flashlights that have no optic and produce a wide beam with uniform illumination. I can see how this might be nice in a small pocket flashlight that is being used for close-up work or to illuminate a room. If you have one, or have considered one, I'm interested hearing about in the uses for which you think they are preferable, particularly in a small light.

Thanks

Stellar Canuck

scout24

Flashaholic
Using the search bar, type in "How do you use your Mule?" Which will bring up a thread from 2007 that is just as relevant today as then. Also starts the Mule history lesson for you! :) A long road pioneered by McGizmo, who still makes some of the best. Enjoy, and welcome to CPF!

nbp

Flashaholic
Love me some Mule flood. If you do a lot of close up work indoors, or use a light in a small area like a tent or camper regularly, the smooth floody beam of a Mule is glorious.

more_vampires

Flashlight Enthusiast
You get spoiled with mule lights, you don't have to pan them around. If you're used to lights that are mostly spot, you'll catch yourself unnecessarily panning it around.

Mule lights excel at NOT TRIPPING AND FALLING while walking. :)

reppans

Flashlight Enthusiast
I use them as spare battery containers :D. Mules are often designed for ultra-compactness and are barely bigger than the cell itself. If I think I need to carry a spare battery, might as well have a spare flashlight too.

WarRaven

Flashlight Enthusiast
I use them as spare battery containers :D. Mules are often designed for ultra-compactness and are barely bigger than the cell itself. If I think I need to carry a spare battery, might as well have a spare flashlight too.
Nice.