headlamp for night crabbing

chozen1

Newly Enlightened
Hey guys I'm a newbie. I'm looking for a headlamp that I can use to go crab hunting in the night. I need a light that can cut through about 3-5 foot of murky water to light up the bottom. Also needs to have very long run time. I generally stay out for 5-7 hours at a time. Rechargeable Batts would b best. Also I Don wanna spend that much but a great light that would help me to catch more would be worth the extra coin.i guess the beam best for me would be a spot and fill. But let me know what u guys think and please make suggestions based on real world experience.

m4a1usr

Enlightened
I'm not sure a headlamp is your better illumination option? I don't know where you are located and what your crabbing technique is but I can tell you mine for simple reference. I crab using waders and along the shoreline. So I'm never is water deeper than 3 to 4 feet and typically when its pretty calm. Normally from late August to the end of October. Maybe into November if the season is rocking. I like to use a Coleman lantern myself. I own just about every make and type of headlamp there is and not one of them would be suited to the task. Wouldnt matter if they were spot or floody. Beam profile would be dependent on where my head was turned. That's not well suited to finding crab using my catching method. One needs to be looking left and right with a uniform amount of lumens, sweeping the area to look for changes in bottom color. That's how you detect crabs here. A spot type would only light up the immediate area in front of you and movement out of your peripheral would suffer. A flood might work but once again it would be dependent on ones head movement and where you were looking at.