Triple LED vs 3 LEDs

SuPpAvIlLiN

Enlightened
Hey guys. I am wondering what the difference between 3 LED's on a star vs 3 separate LED's. Besides space, what are the advantages of having 3 LED's on the same star?

Bruno28

Enlightened
I'm no expert. But when you have them separate, you can have an individual reflector for each led. This would allow better agglomeration of the light and also you can make beam into throw/flood etc.

When try are 3 into one star you can't really focus them as unless you use optics. But I would say optics absorb a bit of light.

Another thing with 3 stars is you an drive each individually. While all 3 in one star you need to drive them all at once.

I could be wrong.

SuPpAvIlLiN

Enlightened
Thanks for the reply. I am no expert either, I am very novice when it comes to the build electronics. I am a heavy user of lights but other than that.....

I was wondering about the driver, do 3 separate LED's needed 3 separate drivers vs. tri star needing only one? And what about amps and say said led needs 2 amps, would the triple on one star need 6 amps?

And how how come only a few LED's have tri Stars available? I don't see one for the XHP-70.

Bruno28

Enlightened
No. You can run all three stars in series or parallel. But then you won't be able to control the output of the three individually. Also remember that if in series and one led fails, all three won't light up.

I think Tri stars are all connected to each other on the board in parallel. You could modify it but the tri stars I know of are all interconnected electically

Last edited:

SuPpAvIlLiN

Enlightened
What about the amps? Like, say an XHP-70 needs 2 amps to give you say 3000 lumens. What if it was a tri star XHP-70...would 2 amps make all 3 LED's put out 3000 each for 9000 total. I guess it's a run time question. Is it basically an extra 2 LED's running for free?