Solarforce versus Seraph??

liteboy

Flashlight Enthusiast
Hey guys, I need new hosts for drop-ins, but want to try non-surefire brands. Please let me know your feelings pros and cons on each of these brands since I am completely new to them. thanks!

lightfooted

Flashlight Enthusiast
Hey guys, I need new hosts for drop-ins, but want to try non-surefire brands. Please let me know your feelings pros and cons on each of these brands since I am completely new to them. thanks!

I own two Solarforce hosts, one L2P and one L2T. I love them both for their simplicity but the finish on them is inferior to Surefire. I even suspect that they might be made of a softer aluminum, although I have no basis for this other than feel. I especially love the modular nature of them outside of just the P60 lamp format. I can definitely recommend a Solarforce host but I have never seen a Seraph in person so I have no way of comparing the two.

One observation of note: The L2T equipped with a twisty cap is roughly 2-3mm shorter than a Surefire C2, which I also own. The stock clickie that comes on the L2T I have also purchased separately and use it on my newer 6P as I frequently find the OEM twisty a bit too stiff to hold on momentary as long as I prefer to, I may just be getting old...but sometimes it is very uncomfortable.

Cobraman502

Enlightened
I have a solarforce l2p but have not tried Seraph. I like the solarforce host, very good anodizing and quality parts. I think the switch on my host is a little stiff but other than that it's great.

ven

Flashaholic
Have a seraph on the way, in fact it is in the UK now so maybe next couple of days hopefully and will give impressions. Solarforce offers an excellent value host, quite a bit of choice and 18650 compatible(no boring like the surefire for example). I have a few, L2T and 2 stainless L2T's, P1 and P1D(excellent solid host of higher quality IMO). Then an L2M for a compact 18350 fed host.
L2M

P1D and L2T

stainless L2T's

Works