Do Surefire L4s and KL4s still have bad tints?

suppin

Newly Enlightened
Hi all, I'm a newbie at this, been lurking around and reading for the past month or so. I noticed that there have been many past complaints of the Surefire L4s and KL4s giving really bad tints (most common is the sickly green tint). So I'm wondering if those problems are still currently widespread in the recent batches? Or has there been any recent improvement and changes to the beam/tint quality of the L4s and KL4s, considering the L1s and KL1s have had an upgrade. Any help or comment is much appreciated!

nirad

Enlightened
I just received my KL4 last week. I would not consider the beam to be tinted bad, mine is very very white with a slight barely noticable green tinge. When compared to my E2e, the KL4 makes my E2e look as yellow as butter. The beam on the KL4 has a nice wider flood than the E2e, but I think the application in which you intend to use the light(s) should be considered.
I like the veresatility of the KL4 for general "softer" spill lighting compared to the tighter pattern and throw of the E2e. The KL4 also works well with my E1e for a nice compact carry led. /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/smile.gif

sotto

Flashlight Enthusiast
[ QUOTE ]
suppin said:
I noticed that there have been many past complaints of the Surefire L4s and KL4s giving really bad tints (most common is the sickly green tint).

[/ QUOTE ]

Oh, really. Where have those posts been exactly? /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/confused.gif

suppin

Newly Enlightened
Yeah, I was considering getting an E2e for a throw/spot light, and a KL4 bezel for a spill light (or an L4 with an E2e bezel) Just kinda concerned about the complaints of green tint of some KL4/L4s, since it seems pretty widespread.

wptski

Flashlight Enthusiast
I have three McLux heads with Lux-IIIs, a 5W McLux head, Arc4+Rev1 and a Arc4+Rev2. The Arc4+Rev2 was the whitest LED till I got my KL4!

stockae92

Enlightened