Voltage Regulation / Circuitry for 72-LED array?

s2357

Newly Enlightened
Hi, new to the forum here but I've got some burning questions that I'm rather eager to have answered. I'm new to electronics and I'm trying to pick up the knowledge necessary in order to get some of my inventive ideas off the ground. I'm hoping I can find some help here. (*crosses fingers...*)

I'm trying to build this array of 72 LED lamps, arranged in a tessalating pattern such that the arrays can be mass produced in grids of basically any size while maintaining light output and energy consumption balance. Anyhow, I'm curious what sorts of voltage regulation and whatnot I should employ in my cicuitry in order to ensure -reliable- operation. Just general information about voltage regulation and fusing and ensuring proper voltages and whatnot. Thanks.
smile.gif

Also, what's the best way to align typical 5mm LED lamps on a PCB? What are the proper hole spacings, etc? All of the miscellaneous Radio Shack boards I have around with pre-punched holes are organized such that the LEDs are just BARELY too close together, so they get kind of lopsided/hung up on the little lip around the bottom edge. Aside from taking off the bottom lip with my dremel, does anybody else have a suggestion for where I can get a pre-punched board that have holes spaced far enough apar to acommodate me? Or perhaps direct me to a place that could custom-make such a board for me?

If you want any more details please go ahead and ask. I'm a little nervous about letting my ideas slip to just anybody, but I feel like I'm hitting hard limits with my own capabilities, so I'm trying this venue. hope it works. =)

Entropy

Enlightened
What's your application for 72 5MM LEDs?