• You must be a Supporting Member to participate in the Candle Power Forums Marketplace.

You can become a Supporting Member.

Woohoo bumped up the drive current of my S27-PD

cryhavok

Enlightened
Tonight I successfully upped the drive current of my wonderful S27-PD. I have zero experience with soldering SMD components, but this mod wasn't too bad.

I always wanted a slightly higher drive current for my S27-PD and I'm the type that isn't happy with something until I have taken it apart completely before putting it back together, hopefully not breaking it in the process...:ohgeez:

Looking at the front of the GDx2 board, there is only one familiar (to me) resistor, one .1 ohm resistor (I'm used to seeing 2 on most of Wayne's other boards). I figured that the I=.05/Rsense that Wayne uses on all his boards would be applicable to this board (plus since .05/.1 = 500ma, the drive current of the stock S27). I had some .15 ohm 0603 resistors on hand, so I calculated that if I drop one of those on top of the .1 ohm resistor already in place, I'd get a new resistance of .06 (1/Rtotal = 1/R1 + 1/R2). Plugging this into Wayne's formula, I=.05/.06, I would get a new drive current of 833ma...perfect :)

So I went ahead and soldered the new resistor on top of the old. Holding my breath, I connected a battery and it worked :party:

The light pulls ~1A at the battery,
IMG_0001-1.jpg

so at least I know the regulation still works and I didn't inadvertently put the light into direct drive (connecting the multimeter to LED leads directly yields a reading of +1.8A)

So I have a question for those of you with more experience measuring with a multimeter (this is the first "real" use of my multimeter I just received from DX). This reading is just the current draw of the battery, not what the led actually is receiving, correct?

Oh, and the results? Lux@1meter has risen from ~4,600 lux@1 meter to ~6,800 lux@1 meter. :rock:

:)>

Flashlight Enthusiast