NovaTac 120P - Review (currently in Polish)

Esthan

Enlightened
Joined
Oct 8, 2006
Messages
245
Location
Poland
Hi,
Here is my review (momentarily in Polish language)of a NovaTac 120P that I
got today: http://www.torch.pl/www/led/novatac-120p.html

Please forgive me for linking a review in polish. I've just finished committing it
(1 AM here) and need to get some sleep before I go to work. Once I'm back
I'll translate it into English for you.

I know You will not understand most of it, but beamshots, photos, graphs and
numbers need no language.

As for numbers:
Zasieg is Throw (Lux at 1m + Quickbeams scale)

Calkowite wypromieniowane światlo means overall output.
This is made with my own sphere. For some comparison:
On high Fenix L2T scored: 141
Old L1 Lumamax scored on High: 118



 

MarNav1

Flashlight Enthusiast
Joined
Mar 27, 2006
Messages
3,181
Location
Nebraska
About 25 minutes to 50%, not so impressive in my book but I guess we will see. Quickbeams benchmark I believe was around 60 minutes or so.
 

aceo07

Enlightened
Joined
Jun 24, 2005
Messages
554
Location
East Coast
I guess they changed the settings a bit. Chevrofreak's beta runtimes show max for 40minutes flat, but only about 60minutes at 60lumens afterwards. This version seems to give up some max output time to give more time at 60lumens, over 90 minutes.
 

aceo07

Enlightened
Joined
Jun 24, 2005
Messages
554
Location
East Coast
Thanks for the review. I look forward to reading it English or being able to read Polish, whichever comes first. :)
 

Esthan

Enlightened
Joined
Oct 8, 2006
Messages
245
Location
Poland
This is a pre run model, so I expect it to be a bit different than the production run.
 

ringzero

Flashlight Enthusiast
Joined
Jun 11, 2006
Messages
1,316
Hi,
Here is my review (momentarily in Polish language)of a NovaTac 120P...


Thanks for an informative review and pics, Esthan.

Good job!

As you suggested, though I can't read Polish I was able to figure out what most of the numerical specs refer to.

.
 

enLIGHTenment

Enlightened
Joined
Feb 5, 2005
Messages
814
Location
Ottawa, Canada
Esthan,

If you program your light to turn on at full power when in the switch is held down (momentary) but to switch on at low level when turned on with a click, will it temporarily flash the 'other' level when turned on in momentary or clicked on? In other words, if programmed as I stated, will the light flash at full power when clicked on or first come on at low level when turned on in momentary mode?

Thanks.

(I'm asking because I want to find out if the P series can be setup to give direct access from off to both high power 'owe my eyes' output and low power, nightvision preserving, dim light.)
 

Esthan

Enlightened
Joined
Oct 8, 2006
Messages
245
Location
Poland
enLIGHTenment
I'm not able to understand what You mean. Sorry.

Could You say it simpler ?

The only solution for low or hi start I see is:
- To force it to start at 1 Lumen (or so - depends on Your needs*)
- Set the Maximum Setting to maximum brightness

Then:
With a click You turn it on the low level.
With a click - push combo You switch it on high (takes less than a second)

I see no other solution. If forced to start at max brightness Your night vision will say good bye to You.

*I've once got stunned by an ARC AAA, that was a real pain to completly night adopted eyes, I can
only image the horror of recieving a 120Lumen wake up...
 
Last edited:

aceo07

Enlightened
Joined
Jun 24, 2005
Messages
554
Location
East Coast
Esthan,

If you program your light to turn on at full power when in the switch is held down (momentary) but to switch on at low level when turned on with a click, will it temporarily flash the 'other' level when turned on in momentary or clicked on? In other words, if programmed as I stated, will the light flash at full power when clicked on or first come on at low level when turned on in momentary mode?

Thanks.

(I'm asking because I want to find out if the P series can be setup to give direct access from off to both high power 'owe my eyes' output and low power, nightvision preserving, dim light.)

This is only from my experience with the HDS, but it does not go to full power unless you 'press' on the button. A 'press' is defined as different from a 'click'. A 'click' is for short duration, a 'press' is longer. So, you will not flash to full power when you 'click' to turn it on. I hope that answered your question. (This is only from my experience with HDS, which I assume is very similar to the NovaTac.)
 
Top