Rotary Cr123/AA flashlight?

db4rings

Newly Enlightened
Joined
Sep 10, 2017
Messages
25
Any chance I can find a rotary switch torch that works with both cr123 and AA?
It seems like they are non existent nowadays. Thanks
 

paulr

Flashaholic
Joined
Mar 29, 2003
Messages
10,833
Rotaries in general are very rare, but HDS makes an expensive CR123A rotary that *might* take an AA tube.
 

eff

Enlightened
Joined
Sep 12, 2013
Messages
296
HDS does sell a rotary with a CR123 tube by default (around 300$ for the EDC version). For the AA, you'll have to purchase the 2xAA tube separately.

Otherwise, try looking for the following lights (don't know if they're still available) :
- Sunwayman V10R / V11R / M11R + 1 AA extension (sold separately)
- Nitecore SRT3 with AA extender included
 

LiteTheWay

Enlightened
CPF Supporter
Joined
Mar 7, 2007
Messages
631
Any chance I can find a rotary switch torch that works with both cr123 and AA?
It seems like they are non existent nowadays. Thanks
The Jetbeam RRT01 is about as close as you will get I think and it will not use AAs.

The sunwayman V11R which would have completely filled your desires is no longer made - alas.
 

db4rings

Newly Enlightened
Joined
Sep 10, 2017
Messages
25
HDS does sell a rotary with a CR123 tube by default (around 300$ for the EDC version). For the AA, you'll have to purchase the 2xAA tube separately.

Otherwise, try looking for the following lights (don't know if they're still available) :
- Sunwayman V10R / V11R / M11R + 1 AA extension (sold separately)
- Nitecore SRT3 with AA extender included

i have looked all over for the sunwaymans but not available.

the hds id have to funk with extenders and stuff.
 

db4rings

Newly Enlightened
Joined
Sep 10, 2017
Messages
25
I have never seen a light that will work with both 123a & AA batteries, rotary or otherwise
I think one of the fenix ld series used to make one with both. But im looking for a rotary
 

db4rings

Newly Enlightened
Joined
Sep 10, 2017
Messages
25
The Jetbeam RRT01 is about as close as you will get I think and it will not use AAs.

The sunwayman V11R which would have completely filled your desires is no longer made - alas.
Yea i looked at jetbeam rrt01 but like you said no aa.
Ah that sunwayman v11r if i can only get my hands on a brand new one
 

Ymayhem

Newly Enlightened
Joined
Mar 25, 2020
Messages
10
You can add an extender to the RRT01 to run AA lights. They sell them bundled or just the tubes. It works with eneloops and 14500. Cr123a's too. No lvp so dont run unprotected cells too low
 

sween1911

Flashlight Enthusiast
CPF Supporter
Joined
Dec 10, 2003
Messages
1,918
Location
Pennsylvania
I picked up a Streamlight Protac 1L-1AA a couple weeks ago as a versatile light for a business trip. It will take a single CR123 or a single AA. No tube changing. Works well though not a rotary.
 

3_gun

Enlightened
Joined
Jun 27, 2021
Messages
477
Streamlight Protac 1L-1AA = neat; 123a & AA in the same tube. Not sure how they do it. Of course I have a cheap eBay zoomie 10000L tac lite from an estate sale for $1 that runs on 3x aaa in a carrier, 2x 123a, 18650 & 21700 batteries. Of course many of the well made 21700 lights have adapters for 18650s & mostly if 18650s will work so will 123a's. Still all lack a rotary UI so far
 

Fireclaw18

Flashlight Enthusiast
Joined
Mar 16, 2011
Messages
2,422
I have never seen a light that will work with both 123a & AA batteries, rotary or otherwise
Zebralight's old SC 80 works with AA, CR123, 16340, 14500, and 16500. It's a pretty slick little light. Too bad Zebralight has no plans to do an update with higher output and a modern emitter.
 

3_gun

Enlightened
Joined
Jun 27, 2021
Messages
477
Yeah, and with a real FL1 2-meter impact rating to boot, just in case you're into that sort of thing. I am. The Borofloat lens is nice too.
Yes I am "into" that sort of thing. Part of the reason I like IP## rated lights over IP?X or IP??. I'm not sure where I'll need the light to work so being rated for dust & water exposure while not a deal breaker is a plus for me.
Zebralight's old SC 80 works with AA, CR123, 16340, 14500, and 16500. It's a pretty slick little light. Too bad Zebralight has no plans to do an update with higher output and a modern emitter.
Was not aware of this light. I seldom need the latest or greatest gear, I really just want gear that works, anywhere, every time.

Got to wonder about the Streamlight, will it work with a 14500 since it can handle a 123a? Just a small bump in V but maybe enough to get it to 400L or better?
 

db4rings

Newly Enlightened
Joined
Sep 10, 2017
Messages
25
Got to wonder about the Streamlight, will it work with a 14500 since it can handle a 123a? Just a small bump in V but maybe enough to get it to 400L or better?
Yes I wonder that. I guess im lucking out on the rotary switch.
But I have to find an aa, 14500, 123a
 

aznsx

Enlightened
Joined
Apr 24, 2015
Messages
765
Location
Phoenix, AZ USA
Yes I am "into" that sort of thing. Part of the reason I like IP## rated lights over IP?X or IP??. I'm not sure where I'll need the light to work so being rated for dust & water exposure while not a deal breaker is a plus for me.

Was not aware of this light. I seldom need the latest or greatest gear, I really just want gear that works, anywhere, every time.

Got to wonder about the Streamlight, will it work with a 14500 since it can handle a 123a? Just a small bump in V but maybe enough to get it to 400L or better?

Being a current or former professional user yourself (I think?), I figured you were 'into' that sort of thing. We tend to think very 'real world' about flashlight use.

As for the 14500 question: I don't believe that 14500 support was in the design requirements, don't believe it's officially 'supported', or likely provided or allowed for in the design. As an electronics industry veteran who has lived on the other side of the fence, I generally stay within specs because I know what often happens when people don't. I'm sure some will tell you that they use them and their light hasn't blown up yet, and I don't doubt that. I wouldn't use them or recommend it. My guess is that it would work OK for at least a certain amount of time, but would likely compromise reliability, and I'm unwilling to do that. Reliability is P1 for me.
 
Last edited:

3_gun

Enlightened
Joined
Jun 27, 2021
Messages
477
It will work with a AAA too.
Do you need a spacer of some kind? Would seem kind of small to trust as a drop in. Are there flat springs inside the length of the body to keep the different batteries centered & from rattling? Never seen one so I'm just guessing
 

GadgetGeek

Newly Enlightened
Joined
Jul 31, 2010
Messages
100
Location
New Jersey
Do you need a spacer of some kind? Would seem kind of small to trust as a drop in. Are there flat springs inside the length of the body to keep the different batteries centered & from rattling? Never seen one so I'm just guessing
No spacer is needed. Doesn't rattle at all. It works well.
 
Top