Thor X 10,000,000. Light help

BWard

Newly Enlightened
Hello,Newbie here as a newbie to a used Thor X 10,000,000 light I bought used, I am charging now, The battery shows just over 15 volts while charging, When I got home with the light it did not work, seller said the battery does not hold a charge, I have the charger on now, Will see what happens,
My question is if it does not hold a charge should I buy a new battery and roll with it OR would it be better to Mod the light to make it BETTER??
I need a good bright light to see things at night.
Thanks for your help.
Brian

CarpentryHero

Flashlight Enthusiast
Is the lens glass or plastic ? If the lens is glass and the reflector is metal, you may want to consider modding it into an HID light

alpg88

Flashlight Enthusiast
yes, you should change battery and mod the light. definatly, halogen bulb, and sla batery is old tech now, use hid kit, and may be li ion batery, or nimh. however you will need to thermoinsulate the bulb\ballast potrion from battery section of the light, heat will kill cells.

i would not recomend to try to turn it into led light, amount of work, or money you'll need to spend to make a working usable led out of it, is pbly more than buying a light that is made as led from the start, or even building led spotlight from 0 would be easier than retrofiting that with a led. (if you want the led to be just as effective and reliable as the original light, that is) unles you just want to turn into a led regardless of it being usefull light after the "surgery".

BVH

Flashaholic
Another "mod" possibility is to buy one of those tiny DC to DC converters off Ebay for $10 or so (will easily fit inside the light) with free shipping and utilize it to fully power your stock Halogen lamp with 14 to 14.4 Volts. Not an HID but still a bright and reliable mod. Unboosted Thors drive the bulb with 12 Volts or less under load.

alpg88

Flashlight Enthusiast
not realy a possibility,