What is the best flashlight?

Customwoodcreations

Newly Enlightened
OK, before everyone blasts me, I know it is a subjective question, and it is intentionally vague.

So, as you can see by my post count, I'm brand new to CPF. I've been searching locally for the best flashlight for years. And then I found this site... and I think I'm hooked.

I've been reading posts for a few weeks now, trying to suck up all of the information I can. All of the reviews are awesome! They lead me to my first "big boy" flashlight, an Eagletac DX30lc2-r, and I love this little guy! Now I'm hungry for more! I ordered a T6vn, and just found out it will ship late next week. The wait will kill me...

One of the issues I'm having reading posts, however, is that a lot of the information is in out-dated models, and a novice like me is struggling to find out if something that used to be great is still great.

So, this leads me to my question. In an attempt to gather the most of the most current information:

In your opinion, as of the day of your post and in your opinion, what is the "best" flashlight in each of the catagories below? It can be stock or mod'd, as long as the mod'd model can be purchased (Vinh). I'm not to the level that information on a one-off modified version will help me.

1. Longest throw (any size)

2. Brightest flood (any size)

3. Best throw/flood combination (any size)

4. Best EDC (throw, flood, or both)

Thanks in advance for your help in my insatiable thirst to learn!!

You've basically asked an opinion that would take the entirety of the forums to answer. Very broad. There are certain brands that have strong following. You probably just need to read a bit more.

For edc, which is what most here talk about, I would think Zebralight, Olight, and Fenix would be the top 3 brands.

Welcome to site.