Poor man's tri-lux

ledled

Newly Enlightened
I recently purchased this chinese light
http://www.flashlightreviews.com/reviews/amart_41led.htm

3 of the LEDs are dead after 20 minute use. When I opened the Bezel, there seems to be a lot of room for modding.

I'm totally new to modifying flashlight, how hard is it to turn this into a tri-lux? It has a 4aaa battery holder similar to electrolumen's upcoming "Little friend" that puts out 200+ lumens. I'm thinking of getting 3 luxeon clones (cost issues, of couse) and resistor it and drive it below spec for longer run-time, better l/w.

Is this too ambitious for someone who doesn't know much about electronics? Is it hard to find the right parts? I know I need to find reflectors or optics & probably a heatsink to mount these emitters
:help:

cratz2

Flashlight Enthusiast
Hrmm... I don't know about using that particular light, but for a Mag mod, the perfect tri-sink (the heatsink and star holder) and three IMS reflectors are available at The Shoppe. You'd really ideally want three identical stars or else one or two are likely to overpower the other(s).

Were you wanting to attempt to make a heatsink from scratch or something? I think unless you were really just wanting to challenge yourself, buying one will be radically easier and cheaper when you factor in your own labor.

LumenHound

Flashlight Enthusiast
Will 2 CR123A 3 volt primary cells fit into it?
A pair will just barely fit into the 28 led model.

What about building a brighter narrow flood type flashlight by replacing the crummy original leds with 41 of the not so expensive 5mm 40Kmillicandle leds?

cratz2

Flashlight Enthusiast