T3 Drive Specs

darkknight

Newly Enlightened
Does anyone know what level the Inova T3 is driven at? I'm guessing somewhere in the 1000mA range?

Thanks, Dark Knight

darkknight

Newly Enlightened
Yeah, you could be right. I was only guessing 1000mA because of Inova's claims that it produces 85 Lumens. I'm no expert but I am pretty sure its not putting out that much. It is really bright though. Anyone else have any idea? Somebody must have taken one apart and took some readings?

Thanks

cratz2

Flashlight Enthusiast
Oh... it definately doesn't put out 85 lumens... probably closer to 60 plus or minus. The reason I would guess somewhere around 600 ma is spec is 700 ma and Inova doesn't want to repair any more lights than they have to so I'd assume they'd drive them just below spec.

They are very difficult to take apart. I think one guy wanted to see the TIROS optic so he ended up hacksawing or bandsawing the thing apart to get to the optic.

darkknight

Newly Enlightened
Thats the only thing I dont like about this light, everything seams to be pressed together. What if you break the lens? I wonder if Inova would charge you to replace it or cover it under its lifetime warranty? They should have made that stainless ring screw on and off so you could change the lens if needed. Other than that though it sure is a fine light.

Dark Knight

wtraymond

Enlightened
Yeah, what cratz said about taking them apart. You will destroy a T3/XO3 and most of the Inova lights by trying to pull these apart. But if you use the 'freeze-pop" method it is very easy and works on the X1, XO, XO3, T1, T2, and T3. I've "popped" them all. Here's how: