Ideas for the Best Bicycle Light in the World!???

android

Newly Enlightened
Hi,

I am a relative novice to this LED hacking stuff. So I would really appreciate help in designing the ultimate bicycle light for commuting at night. I've been thinking about using one or two Luxeon star LEDs in conjunction with some sort of rechargeable battery. I would appreciate help and input into the following questions:

1. How many Luxeon LEDs would be needed to brightly light up the road in front of me? Would one be enough, or would I need 2?

2. What type of voltage should I run them at?

3. Should they be direct drive or should I use some sort of resistance in the circuit?

4. Any suggestions on the best type of battery pack to run these?

My ideal light would light up the road, be very small and discrete and be able to be mounted on either the handlebar or on my helmet. Battery life would be at least three or four hours.

Anyway, I would appreciate any ideas or feedback.

Andrew

Saaby

Flashaholic
Can I throw out a totally insane but logical idea re: battery pack?

There has been talk of using camcorder batteries--but on a bike you've got the space...why not go (Somone will have a good reason why not
wink.gif
) with a laptop battery? Just as an example--my old (By computer standards) laptop here has a 10.8 V 3600 mAh LiIon battery. Combine that with a step down and you should be able to get hours of light? Yes? No? Oh---days of light...good point.

lightuser

Newly Enlightened