Biggest test that you studied for

ibcj

Enlightened
I am currently studying for a rather competitive promotional exam. Approx. 600 will take the test, only the top 60 pass and realistically about only 15 will be promoted.
There is approx. 2,000 pages of material for the closed book portion and an additional 2,000 pages of material for the open book portion. The test is about six months away. It's only given every two years, so if I don't make the cut, it will be two more years before I can retake it.

I know that we have some highly educated people here, who have studied for exams with volumes of material.

My questions are:
What kind of test did you study for ?
What study methods did you fiind useful or useless ?
Any tips, hints or suggestions for tackling this mountain of material ?

TIA (I guess I better get to studying now :) )

MicroE

Enlightened
If possible, I would get samples of previous exams and use them as a guide for both the information that they are testing and the STYLE of the questions.

Although there may be 4,000 pages in the body of knowledge, it contains a few major concepts that will always be on every exam. Figure out the major concepts and make sure that you understand them. Then worry about the minutia.

Just my humble advice. YMMV

greenLED

Flashaholic
Doctoral prelims

Read, read, read - discuss with peers, do "mock" tests, read some more, practice explaining things

Split it into smaller chunks, by topics, select the most relevant stuff and make sure you understand it.

Took approx 6 months of studying, every day (not all day, but every) - passed with flying colors. :)

ibcj

Enlightened
Lightmeup said:
Can you mention the subject matter?

Police Administration.
Specifically for the position of Lieutenant.
I was lucky and passed the Sergeant's test without studying. That doesn't happen with this test.

JimH

Flashlight Enthusiast