Mini Maglite recharging kit

jcozad

Newly Enlightened
Hello all. I am new to Candle Power Forums and what a wealth of information I have gathered. I have a question that maybe some great minds can answer. I recently met a friend of a friend who had a recharging kit for his AA Mini Maglite. He said his wife bought him this kit at a hardware store quite sometime ago and it had really worked well for him. Seems you just change the endcap and batteries and your in business. Anyway I have scoured the net in search of one these and have not located one yet. Any body have any suggestions? I am a certified flashlight nut. I like them all. My wife thinks I am crazy (until the power goes off)
grin.gif
I also collect pressure lanterns. Thanks

Klaus

Flashlight Enthusiast
jcozad,

never heard of such a "kit" - but to make a MiniMag rechargeable you just need 2 AA sized NiMhs preferrably of high capacity such as the 1800mas and a charger for those - a "cheap" solution consisting of 4 1600ma cells and a "dumb" charger will set you back around 10 USD - a "good" one with 4 x 1800ma cells and a "smart" charger probably 35 USD - I just got those offers from Cheapbatteries for your reference.

Klaus

jcozad

Newly Enlightened
Thanks for the information. I am currently using
rechargeable batteries in my Minimag. The "kit" his wife purchased had a charging stand for the AA Maglite. It was neat, it charged from the tailcap instead of close to the head as it does on the full size Mag rechargeable. Thanks Again

ToddM

Enlightened
I have one of those kits, or a similar one around here somewhere. It's quite old maybe 10-15 years. The one I have you replace the tailcap of your maglite with their own, and it slides into a little charger. Pretty slick actually but I haven't seen one in a long long time. Can't remember who made it but I don't think it was made by maglite.

If I find it I'll see if I can give some more info on it.

Todd

ToddM

Enlightened
What do ya know I found it.