Wolf Eyes D2A (Cree HO) vs Tiablo A8

blu6speed

Newly Enlightened
Greetings. I am a new LE officer in MD. I am searching for an EDC light for use on patrol.

I am considering the Wolf Eyes D2A (Cree HO) Defender and the Tiablo A8. Does anyone own both that could do a comparison between the beams? I guess I am looking for the perfect light, wide enough with usable spill for close work, but focused enough to illuminate a car on the other side of the parking lot.

Currently I own an Inova T4 (rechargeable ftw), 2 Inova T1s (new non-trios), and a Pelican M6 LED. The pelican is a great light, just wish it had a little more light output, and that my wife did not grab it first!

nightprowler

Newly Enlightened
I am new to the LED world for patrol work. I bought the Defender about two weeks ago. It is great for close work like you are looking for. It may not fit the bill for lighting up a car across the lot. How big a lot are you talking about? I also bought the Raider and it appears to be just a tad bit brighter. Both will light up a car at 50 feet easily. HTH

Outdoors Fanatic

Flashlight Enthusiast
Wolf-Eyes lights are top notch, no questions about it. But the only Wolf-Eyes models that will throw like the Tiablo A8 are the bigger incandescent models. The Cree-HO don't even comes close....

Mike@PTS

Enlightened
Hi guys,
I have both now since we just received a sample batch from Tiablo. The Tiablo is defiantly a thrower and out throws the Wolf Eyes hands down with the smooth reflector and with the textured reflector still out throws the Wolf Eyes considerably. The only draw back to the Tiablo is the small almost pinpoint hot spot. I think the Wolf Eyes is a better all around light that will throw at least 50 yards.

I wonder when WE will start using the Q4 or Q5 emitters, maybe just before Christmas if were lucky. :whistle:

:thinking: Maybe you should get both?

Phaserburn

Flashlight Enthusiast