Need options for a 1-AA EDC light...

smg

Newly Enlightened
I am looking for a light to give a girl for a Christmas present. It needs to be small and powered by 1-AA battery, so she'll carry it and use it. She carries pepper spray now, but I have very little confidence in its real-world effectiveness. So, I'd like her to have a bright light to able to use defensively. Because I want something that she can immediately "blind" someone with, I don't want something with 10 different brightness levels that she must navigate through (no L1D). I would like 2 brightness levels. On "high", I'd like something that puts out 60+ lumens (more is better) for more than a half hour. "Low" should probably put out 15 lumens (or so), but I'd prefer that it last several hours on that setting rather than be bright. It MUST have a clicky tail cap and an attachment for a lanyard.

I am a bit of a newbie to the light industry, so please provide the company name with the recommendations - I probably won't know the model light you are talking about as well as you do. I am familiar with the Fenix line. The L1T V2.0 seems like an ideal light, but it will not be available until after Christmas. What are some of the options out there?

Oh, let's try to keep the price under $80-90.

Thanks!

swxb12

Flashlight Enthusiast
The L1T V2.0 seems like an ideal light, but it will not be available until after Christmas.

I believe LightHound still has it in stock as of yesterday. I'd check out other shops as well. Fenix-Store isn't the only authorized US dealer.

PocketBeam

Flashlight Enthusiast
Can't the L1D be set to turn on in Turbo mode, without the need to switch to other modes? And even if some strange thing happened, the next mode is strobe, which I think would be even more effect at blinding and disorienting someone.

smg

Newly Enlightened
Well the LM 31 would work. But the choices are many as others will quickly list here for you!