Connect laptop to cell phone possible?

flashfan

Flashlight Enthusiast
Sorry if this is a really lame question. Is there a way to connect my computer to a cell phone to get dial-up internet access on my laptop?

I rarely use the phone at home, and want to cancel land line service. However, periodically I do want to check for email, search the internet, etc., and am looking for a cost effective way to do it.

I do not want to get a PDA, Blackberry or any of those fancy devices with tiny, little keyboards and screens. I'm looking for a basic cell phone that allows me to make/receive telephone (voice) calls, plus dial-up connection to an internet provider.

I'm thinking that an adapter or specialty cable should do the trick, but I'm no techie, so don't know if such a thing is even possible. I just talked to Verizon and AT&T, but they seem to be talking about something else entirely, and keep trying to push me to a PDA. They also mentioned tethering, and a cable to keep the phone and computer "in sync and up-to-date," but that doesn't sound like what I'm looking for.

Thanks in advance for any input or alternative ideas.

geepondy

Flashlight Enthusiast
I know software and drivers are available to turn my Motorola cell phone into a modem. I assume then you'd just hook a cable from the PC USB output to the phone's micro USB input. I would assume the same per minute charge would be in effect though.

My friend has an aircard with his laptop but it costs him $60 a month for unlimited service and I believe the speed is only around 100kbs.

Radio

Modulated Moderator