First Fenix Purchase - WOW

xcel730

Flashlight Enthusiast
Hello Guys,

I'm a newbie here, so go easy on me. In comparison to my friends, I am usually the crazy one spluring over $50 for a flashlight, and I usually have more than one flashlight with me at all times (Photon Freedom Microlight on my keys, and MagLite Solitaire with TekTite LT3 Upgrade in my other pocket). After reading about 10 pages from this post, I realize I am nowhere near any of you guys. I thought I own a few very high quality flashlights (i.e., Inova T1, Inova X5, Inova 24/7, Mini MagLite with TerraLux MiniStar 2 Extreme Upgrade, and MagLite Solitaire with TekTite LT3 Upgrade), but my recent acquisition of Fenix L2D Premium Q5 blew my mind away. I cannot believe how bright this 2xAA flashlight runs. :twothumbs What's also surprising is that this flashlight is manufactured in China, which usually have a bad rep for making low quality products. Anyway, I fell in love with this flashlight the moment I got it. I actually just ordered the Fenix L0D Q4 to replace my MagLite Solitaire, which I've been edcing for the past 3 years.

Now, my newbie questions are ...
(1) from the specs of the flashlight, they say you use 2 x 1.5v AA batteries. From what I know about batteries, this would indicate that it uses either Akaline or Lithium batteries, since Ni-MH is only 1.2v. Has anyone use Ni-MH on their L2D?

(2) Is there any difference in output level?

(3) Will this damage the flashlight?

(4) What batteries do you recommend for this flashlight? (I'm looking at the Sanyo Eneloop, which has low self-discharge).

(5) Finally, the product specs says that for the high-power 107 Lumens, will run for 4 hours. This seems kind of high in comparison to many other top-notch flashlights (i.e., surefire) that uses CR123a batteries with lower lumens. Is 4 hour over exaggeration? If not, what batteries are they assuming you're using?

Thanks so much. This forum rocks!:twothumbs

pbs357

Enlightened
Hi xcel! :welcome: