Can't decide. SF L1 vs. Novatac 120p

Highbeam101

Newly Enlightened
Hello everyone. I am new to CPF and so glad I found this place! After 2wks of reading this forum and trying to decide on first real quality edc flashlight, my head is still spinning.
I think I have it down to 2. SFL1 and Novatac 120p. I would love to have a decent throw, but I also need to be able to work within 5 or 10 feet.
I'm on the fence here. Any and all suggestions would be greatly apprieciated.

HKJ

Flashaholic
Hello everyone. I am new to CPF and so glad I found this place! After 2wks of reading this forum and trying to decide on first real quality edc flashlight, my head is still spinning.
I think I have it down to 2. SFL1 and Novatac 120p. I would love to have a decent throw, but I also need to be able to work within 5 or 10 feet.
I'm on the fence here. Any and all suggestions would be greatly apprieciated.

They are very different lights.
The L1 is a simple flashlight with only two levels. It is very nicely made and easy to use.

The 120P is a complex light that can do lots of fancy stuff, your must use some time to learn how to use the light.

If your just need a flashlight that works, then L1 is the best, but if your want to play with the light, see what light levels are best for different task. Try how strobes works etc. then get the 120P.

Taepo

Newly Enlightened
Also those lights have different beam patterns. The L1 is tighter, more focused, and throws farther. The Novatacss beam is more flood, less throw, and maybe slightly more output. I love the interface of the L1 but prefer the beam of the Novatac. Figure out which is more important to you.

RichS

Flashlight Enthusiast
Would the novatac be able to light an area 100 ft away??