need a little help

samuel271

Newly Enlightened
Hi there everyone i'm new to this and i'm looking for a little advice on what type of flashlight i can go with i am currently employed as a automotive mechanic and in my spare time i like to go out camping so i asked a friend for some help and he suggested the Surefire a2 aviator but also advised i seek some additional advice so if anyone can make any suggestions as to what they think would be best i do please let me know

mwaldron

Enlightened
:welcome:

Since you're going to be outdoors you probably want to stay with incandescent, it's a big opinion (but it's the prevailing opinion in this forum at least, the LED forum would argue) that incandescent is unbeatable outside, especially in wooded areas.

The A2 is a pretty solid choice, you get a small, good quality incandescent beam that throws fairly well and you get the floody LEDs for up close work and extreme battery life.

On a dark starlit night, the white A2's LEDs might still be way too bright for close up work, so you may want to consider a yellow-green or red colored A2, or a separate low-level long life illumination source.

mwaldron

Enlightened
Oh, I forgot to mention, A2's are going for wonderful prices over at CPFM. Pick someone who has one for sale, offer then $115 shipped via PayPal and you should have one before the end of next week.

And keep an eye out for a FiveMega Strion kit for the A2. It doesn't look like much indoors white wall hunting but it's impressive outside. You won't find such a good deal on one though and you'll have to fight off a hoard of rabid A2 fans to get it.:xyxgun:

jrmcferren

Enlightened
:welcome: samuel271. I never thought of an incans for outdoor use, I always thought of outdoors being a I need more power setting, not a I need more detail setting. Thanks guys I couldn't help him on my own.

mdocod

Flashaholic
WELCOME TO CPF!!!