Thinking of modding a Mag - Couple of Questions

digitaldave

Newly Enlightened
I'm thinking about modding a Mag Lite, and I have a couple of questions that I hope you guys can help with.

1) Are the ROP and MAG85 similar in the fact that they replace the bulb, reflector, glass and power source? I know there can be more to it than that, I'm just looking at the basics at the moment.

2) I'd prefer to stick with the 2D form factor. Can both mods be done using a 2D, or would I need to step up to 3D for the Mag85?

3) How do these incan mods compare with a P7 LED mod?

Thanks very much,

Dave.

Gunner12

Flashaholic
1) Beside the need voltage for both bulbs(different batteries) and one is a PR2 base and the other is a bi-pin(and needs an adaptor), they are pretty much the same.

2) The ROP is probably better but both should be doable with the 2D Mag.

3) They are brighter and throw should be better then the P7 mods.

uluapoundr

Newly Enlightened
I'm new to modding Mags and have done a few P7 in various configurations, a 2D ROP, a 3D Mag85, and a 4D Mag623. The ROP was the easiest with chaning the reflector, changing the lense, replacing the bulb, and using a 6AA battery holder. The Mag85 a little more difficult with modding the switch to a Kiu bipin switch, using a 9AA battery holder, lense change and reflector change. The 623 requires a softstart switch, lense change, reflector change, custom battery pack (and charger). The P7 mods require a heatsink, thermal epoxy to glue the emitter, modification to the switch for + and - wires soldered to the emitter, no lense or reflector change needed. For a 2D P7, you can use 3 C cell to get the appropriate voltage.

I personally use my P7 mods the most due to it's long runtime and cooler running light. The 1185 is used the least. The 623 for "wow" factor and to start fires. The ROP if I want more natural color light with decent runtime for an incan.

If you want the breakdown on cost, PM me.

SafetyBob

Enlightened