Police Officer looking for Strion replacement

crazeeman13

Newly Enlightened
I am a Police Officer that carries a Streamlight Strion on his belt as a tactical light. I am looking something about the same size as the Strion but brighter and takes cr123 batteries. I use a Stinger led DS as my primary light for traffic stops and such. I only use the belt light as a backup maybe a few minutes each week. Any input is appreciated.

IcantC

Enlightened
Just wondering how big would you like the light to be?

How many batteries?

Throw/Flood or both?

Single or multiple levels?

I would say pickup a Surefire 6P or Z2, purchase some rechargeable RCR123s(unless you get free CR123s from your dept) and then add a reputable LED dropin(Malkoff or Dereelight).

I run a Dereelight Q5 dropin in my SFZ2 with RCR123s and it is very bright. It is a bit too bright for vehicle searching though.

crazeeman13

Newly Enlightened
I will give you more specifics:

6p sized
2 cr 123s (not rechargables)
single mode
throw more than flood
and brighter than a 6p

Gunner12

Flashaholic
If you don't mind simple to use 2 modes(tighten head = high, loosen head = low), The Fenix T series, the Eagletac T10C2, P10C2 might work.

The Dereelight CL1H, 6P(or any good P60 accepting light) with a good drop-in like the Malkoff M60 can work as single mode only(You'll have to pick the single mode module for the CL1H).

KEW

Newly Enlightened
If you want to stick to Streamlight, (and a lot of cops do) you will be amazed at the new TL-2 with C-4 technology. It blows the Strion away. I have been using mine with the R-123 batts and for the money it is a great light and no questions asked lifetime warranty.

IcantC

Enlightened

6p sized
single mode
throw more than flood
and brighter than a 6p

Would you mind using a 6P? I certainly would not(I have 2 Z2's)

I would purchase a 6P, install a quality Q5 dropin(perhaps Dereelight due to reasonable price) 1SM-2
http://www.dereelight.com/module-list.htm