Newbie with 4D Maglite! What now?!

Gobbie

Newly Enlightened
Hi All,

I'm completely new to all this but can see myself getting hooked. I've been having a good look around the forum and am impressed with a lot of the work going on.

I've got a 4D Maglite which I'd like to put a good led in, but have no idea where to start. I don't want to spend a fortune and have limited modding skills. Can someone point me in the right direction? I'd bet there's other threads covering this but I didn't find them. Maybe there's now a drop-in solution? Any help appreciated!

Thanks

adirondackdestroyer

Flashlight Enthusiast
Hi All,

I'm completely new to all this but can see myself getting hooked. I've been having a good look around the forum and am impressed with a lot of the work going on.

I've got a 4D Maglite which I'd like to put a good led in, but have no idea where to start. I don't want to spend a fortune and have limited modding skills. Can someone point me in the right direction? I'd bet there's other threads covering this but I didn't find them. Maybe there's now a drop-in solution? Any help appreciated!

Thanks

Gobbie,

Your best bet is just to buy a MagLED straight from the store. They sell for $35 in the states. Truly modding a Mag can be very expensive if you want it to be impressive. In all honesty you aren't going to have a very nice setup unless you are willing to spend well over $100.

Have you thought about buying a smaller and much nicer flashlight? Fenix-store.com and 4sevens.com both have free worldwide shipping if you are worried about the high cost of shipping.
Check out one of these models:

Nitecore D20
Fenix LD20

irv_usc

Enlightened
what adirondack said.

also, if you have some moderate soldering skills, you can switch out the LED from the MagLED module and upgrade it with an SSC P4 for a pretty big improvement over stock.

StarHalo

Flashaholic
I use the TerraLUX TLE-300 drop-in in my Mag.