New to CPF - looking for help RE an EDC

Junior Light Boy

Newly Enlightened
I'm brand new to CPF and forums in general. Foregive me if I'm doing it wrong:wave:

I'm looking for an EDC that would work best for my needs. I don't have a lot of knowledge when it comes to the latest flashlight technology or features. I was looking at the Novatac EDC 120p, but notice that many of the reviews are from 2007. I'm curious to know if there are better/updated choices out there. Here's a little background:

I work as an investigator for an insurance company. Earlier this week I was in a burned out building which had no power. I just got in from looking at a vehicle with funky VIN plates. I often find myself in low light or no light. Sometimes I need an area totally lit up. Sometimes I just need enough light to make out a VIN plate through a windshield. I need a light with varying output.

I would like my flashlight to have some self-defense capabilities - not necessarily for striking, but something bright enough to disorient/distract to give me a couple seconds of breathing room.

Some days I go to work in jeans, some days in Dockers, and some days in a suit. I'd like a light that is easy to carry in all modes of dress.

I live in the Great Northwest - so I enjoy hiking in the mountains and forests. I'd like to have some sort of beacon mode in case I do something stupid – and believe me I have. :sssh:

I already have the following lights – so no need to suggest them:

Phoebus Tactical LED Wilderness Kit

SF 6Z

SF E2D Executive Defender – this is an older non-led light with a single mode. It's a little longer than what I want as an EDC. I believe it is 80 lumens. Sometimes that is too bright – but I would like my EDC to be capable of 120 lumens or more.

Insight H2 Arcturus – I like the features of this light, it's just too big for EDC.