10 amp regulated SST-90 Mag2D

Al Combs

Enlightened
This is my first build thread, so please be nice. I have a new found respect for people who take the time to make build threads. To stop what you're doing and take pictures I actually found hard to remember to do. I missed several shots I thought afterwards would have been good. I never really liked my 3D-Mag P7 that much because it was too big and heavy. Although the 3 hour runtime was nice. A 2C-Mag P7 with a 26650 and a spacer quickly became the light I would grab. So this one is a 2D-Mag with 4*4/5-SubC's. Almost the same length as the 2C, just a little fatter. I was going to get a wquile's 1D-Mag that's been bored to take a fivemega 4AA-1D battery holder. I just didn't have the money this time around. Also the 4AA-1D battery holders are sold out at the moment. That was the real reason.:laughing:

I started with an SST-90 WM-F3 from 4Sevens. He ran out of that bin fairly quick being such a nice color. I figured I could live with it being an M bin since it was only 28 bucks. According to the Luminus specs, it's still over 2,000 lumens at full power. A Fivemega Finned/Flutted M*g "D" Head is just the ticket to dissipate all that heat. Sorry folks, I got the last one for now. I used some Arctic Silver 3 to mount fivemega's reflector housing to the battery tube. I figure that to be the perfect way to enhance this modified housing's heat dissipating abilities. Nyogel 760 was used only on the O-ring. In case anyone is wondering, I bought a huge tube of AS3 about a month before they came out with AS5. AS3 is much thinner than AS5 and so better suited to this. I always knew I'd find a use for it. The combination of extra surface area of the finned head and AS3 really seemed to do the trick. I had it running for about 2 minutes at full power just to see. It was hot, but not so hot I couldn't touch it. [Edit: I forgot to mention the use of a flashlightlens.com UCL cover glass. Don't know how I forgot that]